There are moments in my relationship with God where the Holy Spirit lays a finger on me. Just the tiniest touch from God brings tears of joy to my eyes and puts me on my knees in worship. These are the moments where I am reminded how much I love God and more importantly, how much God loves me.

One church service I was contemplating factors that keep non-believers and even believers from pursuing a relationship with Christ. Most of the time people bring up questions like “If there is a God, then why hasn’t he taken care of me?” or “If God is so loving, why are there innocent children hurting in the world?” Those questions used to stop me in my tracks because I didn’t know how to answer them. I often asked those questions myself, and because I had no answer I was left discouraged.

During this particular service (that I wasn’t listening to apparently) I got the sudden urge to write. It was as if these thoughts were about to explode from my mind if I didn’t immediately get a piece of paper! I ended up using the church bulletin to capture the explosion. I felt as though God were speaking them into my heart at that moment and I wanted to share my thoughts with you.

Who are we to question whether God is doing His job correctly? He generously gave us the gift of freewill and because we are flawed human beings, we abuse it. Believe me when I say that God did not create a flawed universe, but Satan ushered sin into our lives so that we would bring chaos to the world.

God does not make us sin. The Bible tells us that God doesn’t even tempt us to sin. We are born into sin so it is our job to rid the sin from our lives through the power of Jesus Christ. The sin of others causes innocent people to hurt. If you have a fragment of belief that God loves us, trust that Jesus weeps over His children especially those who are hurting.

In all honesty and love, rather than asking “God, why?” we should be praying, “Lord, forgive me of my imperfections and help me to trust Your plan.”

This humbling revelation forced me to look at Job in the Bible. Job was innocent and righteous and Satan hated that. The test was to bring Job to his knees in pain and see if he would still look to God for help. If you read Job you’ll know that God put Job in his place when He needed to.

There are many verses in the Bible that demonstrate God’s power and might. In my opinion, if God were to have a weakness, it would be His unconditional love for us. Even though we curse Him, disobey Him, and even run away from Him, He is still willing to forgive us and let us into His kingdom. Though He certainly doesn’t have to, I thank God for his constant mercy in my life and I hope you will too.

God Bless,

-LJ

1 Corinthians 1:25, Isaiah 55:8, Job 40 and 41, 2 Timothy 2:26, John 3:16

2 thoughts on “God’s Weakness

  1. Incredible insight for someone so young. You must be reading His word a lot. This gives one to ponder such things, which the Lord has always said to ponder His word daily. Thank you for that bit of encouragement.
    Claire

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amen! I liken this to parenting – every parent wants the best for their child and not to go through pain. Sometimes you can’t control the path they choose and then hopefully they learn from their mistakes. God is hoping we learn from our mistakes and choose the right path! John 14:6-7.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

